Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler for the 2014 Season


  At the conclusion of each college wrestling season, WrestlingReport.com selects its Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler(s) of the Year.  This annual recognition goes to a wrestler who is both a Pennsylvania native and competed for a Pennsylvania college or university.

  WrestlingReport, under the direction of Bruce Closson, today announced that the Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler of the Year for the 2014 season is Ed Ruth, from Harrisburg.  Ruth, a senior at Penn State University, helped lead Penn State to the 2014 NCAA Tournament team championship, the fourth NCAA title in a row for Coach Cael Sanderson’s Nittany Lions.

  Ed Ruth had a spectacular 2014 season.  He won his third NCAA championship, this year at 184 pounds.  Mr. Ruth won the Binghamton Open, the Mat-Town Open, finished second in the Southern Scuffle, battled undefeated through the dual-meet season, won the Big Ten Tournament, the 2014 NCAA’s and completed the year with a W/L record of 34-1.

  Congratulations to Ed Ruth, WrestlingReport.com’s Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler of the Year for 2014.  Past winners of this WR.com recognition were:  Penn State’s Jeremy Hunter for the 2000 wrestling season; Edinboro University’s Josh Koscheck for 2001; Lehigh University team mates Rob Rohn and Jon Trenge (co-winners) for 2002; Lehigh University’s Troy Letters for both 2003 and 2004; Pitt-Johnstown’s Thad Benton for 2005; Phil Davis of Penn State for 2006; Pittsburgh’s Keith Gavin for 2007 and 2008; Edinboro’s Jarrod King for 2009 and 2010; Penn State’s Quentin Wright for 2011; Penn State’s Ed Ruth for 2012; and Ed Ruth and Quentin Wright (co-winners) for the 2013 wrestling season.